AICA Ireland

Irish National Section
International Association of Art Critics
Association Internationale des Critiques d'Art

AICA Ireland (Comhdháil Idirnáisiúnta de Chriticeoiri Ealaíne - Éire) is the membership body for professionals working in critical discourse, research, and reflection within the visual arts on the island of Ireland.

The Irish national section of the International Association of Art Critics / Association Internationale des Critiques d'Art promotes professional practice and exchange among members working in these disciplines.

Founded in 1950, AICA International brings together more than 5,000 art professionals from 95 countries, organised into 63 national sections and an open section.

About Us image

Cristín Leach


Jane Morrow


Róisín Kennedy


Liam Kelly

Honorary Member and Chair of the AICA Congress Committee

Hilary Pyle

Honorary Member

Ciaran Bennett

Honorary Member

Michaële Cutaya

Past President

Noel Kelly

Past President

Áine Phillips

Adrian Duncan

Alannah Hopkin

Amanda Ralph

Billy Leahy

Brenda Moore McCann

Chris Clarke

Christina Kennedy

Ciarán Benson

Colin Darke

Conor McGrady

Dawn Williams

Declan Long

Fergal Gaynor

Fiona Kearney

Gavin Murphy

Gemma Tipton

Georgina Jackson

Jacqui McIntosh

Jane Humphries

Joanne Laws

John Gayer

Jonathan Carroll

Joseph McBrinn

Kate Antosik Parsons

Linda King

Maeve Connolly

Marianne O'Kane Boal

Marysia Wieckiewicz-Carroll

Nathan O'Donnell

Niamh Dunphy

Niamh O'Sullivan

Pádraic E Moore

Patrick T Murphy

Paul O'Brien

Paul O'Neill

Paula Murphy

Rebecca O'Dwyer

Samuel Walsh

Sarah Kelleher

Sean Kissane

Silvia Panerai

Stephanie McBride

Tina Kinsella

Yvonne Scott

  • Dublin, Leinster, Ireland

All applicants must produce evidence of sustained activity over the previous three years, in one or more of the following areas:

a) Daily/periodical press, or broadcasting on radio, TV or video, or in the electronic media

b) Publication of works of art history, aesthetics or criticism

c) Teaching of art criticism, art history, aesthetics, curating, or art, at higher or tertiary level

Membership is open those who live, or have lived, on the island of Ireland.

Applicants for membership must be proposed and seconded by existing members.

Former members may re-apply for membership without being proposed and seconded, but may be required to furnish evidence of having undertaken recent qualifying activities.

All applications must be accompanied by a short curriculum vitae on a standard biographical form, written in one of the three official languages of the Association. The application form is available here.
AICA Ireland is one of 63 National Sections of AICA International.

All AICA members are members of either a National Section or the Open Section.

AICA is affiliated with UNESCO as a non-governmental organisation since the late 1940s and is the recognised professional organisation in the field of art criticism.

Further information about AICA and the history of the organisation is available here.
All members receive an AICA Press Card.

The AICA Press Card provides free and unlimited access and professional courtesy to AICA members attending museums and art institutions worldwide. The card is only valid with a membership sticker indicating the current year.

More information is available here.
The current annual subscription fee for elected members is €50.